Roy Hodgson names provisional 26-man squad for Euro 2016


England manager Roy Hodgson has named his initial squad for the forthcoming European Championships to be held in France between June and July.

Hodgson has decided to name a 26-man list due to Liverpool and Manchester United both having games left to play, with the final 23-man squad to be confirmed later this month.

Striker Marcus Rashford is clearly in Hodgson's plans following an impressive first season at Old Trafford, whilst there is no place for team-mate Michael Carrick, Arsenal's Theo Walcott or Everton defender Leighton Baines.

Below is Hodgson's full selection:

Goalkeepers: Tom Heaton (Burnley), Fraser Forster (Southampton), Joe Hart (Manchester City)

Defenders: Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), John Stones (Everton), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Ross Barkley (Everton), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Drinkwater (Leicester City), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), James Milner (Liverpool), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Andros Townsend (Newcastle United). Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)

England's first game takes place on June 11 against Russia in Marseille before they play UK rivals Wales five days later and finally Slovenia on June 20.

Hodgson will be able to tinker with his team in friendlies against Turkey, Australia and Portugal before the tournament begins.